Quick and Easy Bean Tacos

Sometimes writing a vegetarian recipe is so easy, it feels like cheating.

 

But sometimes, easy is just what you need! As a busy vet student balancing school, taking care of my animals, and extracurricular activities, there are some days when I just don’t have much time to devote for dinner. I prefer saving takeout for special occasions, both because of the price and for health reasons.

The Finished Product

These bean tacos were constructed in roughly 30minutes from the time I opened the refrigerator to the time I sat down to ­inhale (eat) my dinner. Because there is no meat, your cooking time is reduced from that of normal tacos. The recipe can be easily scaled up to feed more people- although this recipe was enough for me for a two-taco meal plus leftovers.

 

Ingredients

1 Can of Beans (I used Pinto)

1 Packet of pre-mixed Taco Seasoning (I used McCormick’s Chipotle Taco Seasoning)

1 Small white onion

2 Tbsp Oil (I used grapeseed, other cooking oils should be fine)

Whole wheat tortillas

 

Garnish Ideas

Tomato

Avocado

Lettuce (or other greens)

(Plain) Greek Yogurt

Cheddar Cheese

My Selected Garnishes

Directions:
[Whenever you’re waiting for something to cook, I recommend using that time to prepare your garnishes- dice a tomato, chop lettuce, shred cheese, etc.]

  1. Dice the onion and toss it in a pan with the oil, allowing it to cook until the onion is translucent.
  2. Add the can of beans and your spice packet- you don’t have to drain/rinse the beans because the liquid helps the spice mixture stick. Sauté the bean mixture until heated through.
  3. Assemble tacos and enjoy! I like to finish each taco with a dollop of greek yogurt- a tasty and protein-packed alternative to sour cream.

Beans

If you’re not a huge fan of beans, feel free to use textured vegetable protein, tofu, mock-meat, or even just mixed veggies!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

