Why I Became an Herbivore

It was the summer of 2009, and I was watching Whale Wars, one of the newest hit series on Animal Planet at the time. The Japanese whaling fleet had just harpooned a whale and they were hauling it up onto the deck of their ship. I remember being horrified as I watched them cut up the whale. There was blood everywhere! The water around the ship was stained red from how much blood ran into it. I could not believe that anyone could hurt such an intelligent animal just to put it on their dinner plate.

This is a small clip of the episode I was describing earlier. It does not show them processing the meat.

That night at dinner, as I was about to eat the piece of chicken that was on my plate, I began to think about that innocent whale that was slaughtered. If I felt so badly about someone killing a whale to eat, why did I not feel the same way about a chicken? After all they are both living creatures. After a few moments I decided not to eat the chicken. I wanted to do some research before I decided to eat meat again.

After I looked at several pro-vegetarian websites, I decided that killing a whale was no different from killing a cow or chicken. The only difference is that living in America we tend to not think about what we are eating on our plates. This allows us to disconnect and not realize that what is on our plate used to be an actual living creature. After watching several videos of many food animals being tortured before they were slaughtered, I had decided that I was never going to eat meat again.

Photo credit to Anna Isakov & Deryn Gahagan

Photo credit to Anna Isakov & Deryn Gahagan

It has been almost six years since I have eaten meat. I became a vegetarian for my own moral reasons, but not every feels so strongly about animals as I do. There are many other reasons and benefits of becoming a vegetarian. For example, there are many health benefits of vegetarianism. According to Brown University, vegetarians have a lower risk of heart disease, diabetes, obesity, high blood pressure, and colorectal, ovarian, and breast cancers. Besides the obvious benefits for animals and our health, vegetarianism is also good for the environment (Chooseveg.com). In the article “Why Veg?” it states that living a vegetarian lifestyle can help reduce pollution, greenhouse gas emissions, climate change, rainforest destruction, and save water.

I know that it is not easy to become a vegetarian overnight. I also know that living a vegetarian lifestyle is not for everyone, but even just giving up meat for one day of the week can make a huge difference.

Below are some websites that have some good vegetarian recipes.
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipe/
http://www.cookinglight.com/food/top-rated-recipes/best-vegetarian-recipes

And this is a recipe book to a very delicious vegetarian only restaurant:
http://www.amazon.com/The-Grit-Cookbook-World-Wise-Down-Home/dp/1556526482

References

“Being a Vegetarian.” Brown University Health Promotions. N.p., n.d. Web. 17 Feb. 2015.                     <http://www.brown.edu/Student_Services/Health_Services/Health_Education/nutrition_&_eating_concerns/being_a_vegetarian.php&gt;.

“Why Veg?” ChooseVeg.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 18 Feb. 2015. <http://www.chooseveg.com/environment&gt;.

Leave a Reply

